Hello world!

Today marks the beginning of a journey for me. As I perused a Christian bookstore today at a local church, I began seeking a book just for stepmoms from a Christian perspective. I wasn’t surprised to find one book, The SmartStepmom, it’s a good book and if you haven’t read it I encourage you to do so, but my only complaint is that it is the only book out there for stepmoms who follow Christ. It seems in my search to find more women like me who want to lead a Godly life in a role that was birthed from an imperfect world I just keep coming up empty. There are lots of stepmom resources out there, but so few have a Christian basis.

In our churches today, we have so many different ministries – children’s ministry, youth, young adults, marriage life, senior care, divorce care. But where are the stepfamily groups? Where are the lifegroups for stepmoms? If you are a stepmom who has children of her own, I supposed attending a mom’s group would fulfill some of the need to connect with others, but if you’re like me and have no biological children, walking into a mom’s group for support can be a lot like that dream you have about wearing your underwear to work – awkward.  In those instances, even the most God-fearing women have no problem putting up a sign in their countenance and spirit that says “only real mom’s allowed…”  It can get frustrating can’t it?  Feeling like you do so much only to have it goe unnoticed, loving your stepchildren only to have them spew anger at you, coordinating and balancing schedules only to have them thwarted by another woman, and to top it all off you’re not allowed in the mom’s club.  I am here to tell you that you have been called to a high honor. You have the ability to serve your stepchildren, your husband, and his ex-wife (yes, even her.) You get to wash their feet so to speak and bring the Lord’s healing love to a very broken situation. I want to be here to remind you of that and to encourage you to continually look for ways to serve the ones around you.

I hope you will join me in this journey as I take this next year to seek out what a Christian stepmom truly looks like.  I will be posting stories of my own experiences, bible passages, songs, etc.  I hope this will be a place for you to find rest for your spirit and companionship with other women who are walking similar lives. I look forward to hearing stories about your kids, your husbands, and your struggles. I commit to praying for each and every one of you.  You are not alone. I truly believe being a stepmom is a gift and a calling and I will stand firm and believe I was created for such a time as this – would you dare to believe that about yourself? I’ll leave you with a few thoughts from our Saviour:

“Come to Me, all of you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” Matthew 11:28 HSCB

We were never meant to walk this earth alone, and because of the blood of Christ – we don’t have to. Come to Him today and let Him give you rest.

-Misty

3 thoughts on “Hello world!

  1. Misty, you are definitely on the right track for embracing your role as a stepmom, and especially as you seek to fulfill it as a Christian stepmom. I encourage you to continue to reach out to other Christian stepmoms for support, and to consider that God may use you to start a ministry for stepfamilies in your own church.

    As you look for resources to help you on your journey, you might try searching under ‘blended family’ as well as ‘stepmom’ or ‘stepmother’ in online Christian book websites. Books on blended families usually address the issues of being a step parent.

    Lifeway.com has these books listed, in addition to the Smart Stepmom book you mentioned:

    ‘Stepping-Stones for Stepmoms’ – “Stepping-Stones for Stepmoms provides Scriptures, prayers, encourragement, and inspiring life stories from stepmoms who have experienced God’s guidance as they blended a family.”

    ‘We’re Not Blended We’re Pureed’ – “This book uses humor to approach the often emotionally charged issues in blended families. Both authors provide useable methods for what to say when words dont come. Short, captivating chapters are perfect for those rare moments parents have to themselves.”

    ‘Blended Families: Creating Harmony as You Build a New Home Life’ by Maxine Marsolini

    Also Christianbook.com has several books and cd’s that come up under a ‘stepmom’ search, including ‘Blissfully Blended: 365 Devotional Readings for Stepmoms’ – “For stepmoms trying to blend two seemingly different families into one, Blissfully Blended offers you a daily dose of God’s wisdom, peace, encouragement, and comfort. Whenever you need a pick-me-up – morning, noon, or night, pick up this 365-day devotional and you’ll soon be basking in God’s sunlight.”

    A ‘stepmom’ search on Focus on the Family’s website also brings up several links to webcasts, books, etc.

    May your parenting and your blogging be blessed!

    “Now thanks be to God who always leads us in triumph in Christ, and through us diffuses the fragrance of His knowledge in every place.” 2 Corinthians 2:14

    • Thank you so much for the words of encouragement and for the resources! I am extremely grateful and will be following up on many of them. I am so excited to know that the resources for Christian stepmoms are spreading and growing. I think it is essential to bring women together on this topic. Thank you again for your help!

      Misty

  2. I am so very thankful to have found this blog. I will definitely be reading it and looking for the resources you’ve suggested! I am getting married April 6 (in a month) to a wonderful, Christian man, who has physical custody of his two children (girl, 8 and boy, 6). It has already been a challenge to say the least, and his ex wife is not the nicest. Thank you for what you are doing and please keep this going….it is such an encouragement!

Leave a Reply

