Let’s Catch Up

Whew…I don’t know about you, but this year has been one big whirlwind for our family. I thought I’d catch you up on what the Carson clan (ie my crazy family) has been up to over the last few months. 

First off about 4 months ago my awesome husband and I began feeling a deep conviction that we were not living out the life that the Lord had called us to. We were so comfortable in our cute little cabin in the woods and just spending our days going to jobs that provided enough for us to stay there. However, Jason (my husband) and I are both creative types and found our way to Nashville, allured by the music scene, decades ago. Nashville is where we met, shared each others affinity for country music, and fell in love. However, over the past few years we have just flat out been trying to stay afloat. He and I were both working random jobs and were hardly using our talents or our passion let alone making music together. The Lord made it clear in a big way that we should take a leap of faith and start using our voices again. So, to make a long story short we moved out of our beloved and idolized cabin in the woods and moved into my parents basement (don’t worry it’s bigger than our house was). However, we came up against some big challenges in the beginning. For instance, the basement was being remodeled when we moved so we slept outside in a tent for three weeks on the back porch…that was fun. But now the dust has settled and we are all moved in and are actively working on a full-length worship album with a great studio in town, and I’m also writing and recording a a solo country project as well. Jason has been working regularly on the set of “Nashville” the ABC television show and just yesterday he got hired on as a piano player for a touring country artist. However our real passion is music ministry and that’s what we are super excited about. If you want to hear some of our music together, you can visit http://www.youtube.com/AngelsLandingTV.

Meanwhile, throughout the move I have also been finishing my business degree at Belmont University. I went back to school a few years ago, and this last stretch was a doozy. You can always tell when school gets really hectic because that’s when my blog posts and twitter feed have fallen off the face of the earth. However, on August 9th, I graduated with honors and was even awarded a scholarship for being the top graduate among all the colleges. I knew I had worked hard, but I had no idea I had worked THAT hard. In that moment all I could keep thinking about was the verse in Colossians 3 that says, “Whatever you do, work at it wholeheartedly as though you were doing it for the Lord and not merely for people.” 

These past few months have been exhilarating  and terrifying, but I just keep remembering that no matter what I am doing I need to do it as unto the Lord. Whether that’s working on a music ministry, being a wife, being a stepmom, planning family vacations, or simply juggling the family budget – I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. 

So, welcome back, thanks for being patient with me. I can’t wait to see what dialogue really opens up between us now that I can truly devote some time to the blog. I’ll be posting every Tuesday morning – so get your coffee ready and let’s lean on each other! 

Blessings,

Misty

Image

The Carson Clan’s last night at our cabin..yeah it’s summer and there are Christmas lights!!

Image

         Graduation Day with my husband Jason and oldest stepson, Mitchell.

Leave a Reply

