Let’s Go Mountainclimbing

Over the last few weeks I have been praying about what to share on the Christian Stepmom blog. We’re in such a great season with my stepsons lately – they are turning into fine young men and we’re experiencing all the joys and struggles that high school brings. It has been somewhat surreal to watch them grow and change, it seems like just yesterday I was helping with basic math problems and fighting our way through vegetables, but the seasons have changed. I find myself having more and more actual conversations with the boys and can’t believe our oldest will be a senior next year. I say all of this, because I realize so much of what I have blogged about here has been focused on the struggles of the blended family life. I have used our challenges to spur conversation on the site and have been somewhat at a loss for words when it comes to peaceful times, but in that I have found a season of resting in the Lord and my walk with Him is constantly changing.

Today, as I was driving, a sermon came on the radio by Dr. Adrian Rogers. During his lifetime, Dr. Rogers was a well-known evangelistic southern Baptist preacher from the state of TN. I grew up in a southern Bapstist church, but normally, I can only take the passionate preaching for a few minutes before I’m shaking my head and saying, “Shhh…you don’t have to be so loud”, but today the message completely struck a chord with my heart and I was so mesmerized at the timeliness of Dr. Rogers words that the zeal of his preaching resonated with me, and I knew I wanted to share the message with you here. During his sermon titled, Give Me this Mountain, Dr. Rogers takes us through the passage of Joshua 14: 6-12 where we find the Lord’s servant Caleb boldly proclaiming the promise of the Lord as he begins to take the mountain that was promised to him by Moses. While I was listening to this message, I couldn’t help but think of how often we women, even as believers, only see giants in front of us and obstacles that keep us from truly experiencing the promises of the Lord in all their fullness. We let ourselves believe we are missing the proverbial “something” that will one day make us happy, but day after day we go on being defeated and hoping we simply feel better when we wake up. This simple message from Dr. Rogers was my wake up call. Instead of seeing my frustrations or disappointments from my perspective I should instead follow Caleb’s example and focus on how great and big my God is to overcome them all and recognize the trials are the very thing which makes me stronger in my walk with the Lord. The “something” I’m missing is absolute surrender to Christ Jesus who lives in me.

I was forty years old when Moses the servant of the Lord sent me from Kadesh Barnea to spy out the land, and I brought back word to him as it was in my heart. Nevertheless my brethren who went up with me made the heart of the people melt, but I wholly followed the Lord my God. So Moses swore on that day, saying, ‘Surely the land where your foot has trodden shall be your inheritance and your children’s forever, because you have wholly followed the Lord my God.’ 10 And now, behold, theLord has kept me alive, as He said, these forty-five years, ever since the Lord spoke this word to Moses while Israel wandered in the wilderness; and now, here I am this day, eighty-five years old.11 As yet I am as strong this day as on the day that Moses sent me; just as my strength was then, so now is my strength for war, both for going out and for coming in. 12 Now therefore, give me this mountain of which the Lord spoke in that day; for you heard in that day how the Anakim were there, and that the cities were great and fortified. It may be that the Lord will be with me, and I shall be able to drive them out as the Lord said.”  Joshua 14:7-14

One thought on “Let’s Go Mountainclimbing

  1. That was beautiful. I just discovered your blog and I’m finding the words are nourishing and healing during this difficult time. God Bless You!

Leave a Reply

