Let’s Talk About Being Married

Yesterday my husband and I had an 18 hour car drive from Nashville, TN to Denver, CO. I absolutely love our time in the car, because it seems like we always have our best conversations there. We talked a lot about some of the emails and comments you all leave here on the blog and it stirred my heart to do a short series on what married life looks like in a blended family. Over the next couple of weeks, I will be sharing some of my biggest struggles being a second wife and stepmom AND (here’s my favorite part) my husband has agreed to share some of his struggles as a divorced and remarried dad. I am so excited about this series because I truly believe that marriages in blended families have more than the typical husband/wife struggles and if I’m honest, I’m really excited about hearing my husband talk about his FEELINGS!!!  In a blended marriage you have two people experiencing family life in compltely different ways and when communication breaks down it is a recipe for disaster. If you would like to join in this conversation, share some of your own stories, or have specific questions for me or my husband, please email me directly at christianstepmom@gmail.com!

In the meantime,  I want to share a series of sermons from one of my favorite pastors to listen to, Andy Stanley. My husband and I listened to his “Staying in Love” series during our drive yesterday and I would encourage you to listen and/or watch these episodes as they are a great resource. Here is a link to the first episode: Love Is a Verb. You can also listen to these via itunes or the YourMove app on your smartphone!

Praying for you and can’t wait to walk more of this journey with you!

2 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About Being Married

  1. Hi- I am a stepmom in a Christian blended family with many dynamics going on. I look forward to hearing what things you guys bring because sometimes there are struggles we have with no one to go to for mature advice. Blessings!
    Denise

  2. I’m struggling to find my role in our blended family and our home. This is my first marriage and his third. His 11 year old daughter lives with us. My children our 16,17 and 21. If her and i don’t see eye to eye he blames me. We have raised our children differently. My children i was strict with. I forced them to learn how to respect adults and his daughter argues with me about EVERYTHING. And he shares our personal things ( finances, bills, troubles with the older children) i believe that’s between us. I feel almost as if i hate to say this his adoration for his youngest daughter is tearing us apart as a married couple. I’m very troubled

Leave a Reply

